Building Resilient Regions

Metropolitan regions— the collections of cities, suburbs, and rural areas that house two-thirds of America’s population—is increasingly where transformation takes shape. Leaders at the state, regional, and local levels must now more than ever understand and respond to the demographic, social, and economic changes underway.

To help expand our vision from that of a local city only to metro regions, BRR brings together a group of experts, funded by the MacArthur Foundation, to examine how best to harness the power of metro regions to effect real change.

.

Our Members
BRR RESEARCHERS

Margaret Weir (economic insecurity)
BRR Director
Professor of Political Science and Sociology
University of California, Berkeley
mweir@berkeley.edu
Website: Political Science
Website: Sociology
Full Bio »

Kathryn A. Foster (governance)
Associate Director, BRR Network
Director, University at Buffalo Regional Institute, SUNY
kafoster@buffalo.edu
website: http://regional-institute.buffalo.edu
Full Bio »

Manuel Pastor (immigration)
Associate Director, BRR
Professor, Geography and American Studies & Ethnicity, University of Southern California
Director, Program for Environmental and Regional Equity
mpastor@college.usc.edu
Full Bio »

William Barnes, (governance)
PhD, Director, Emerging Issues, National League of Cities
barnes@nlc.org
Website: National League of Cities
Full Bio »

Camille Cates Barnett (governance)
Managing Director, City of Philadelphia
Camille.Barnett@phila.gov

Alan Berube (governance)
Research Director, Metropolitan Policy Program, Brookings Institution
aberube@brookings.edu
Website: Brookings Institution
Full Bio »

Margaret Cowell (governance)
Assistant Professor, Department of Urban Affairs and Planning, Virginia Tech
mmcowell@vt.edu
Full Bio »

Archon Fung (governance)
Associate Professor of Public Policy
Harvard University, JFK School of Government
archon_fung@harvard.edu
Full Bio »

Edward Hill (economic resilience)
Dean, Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs
Cleveland State University
E.Hill@Csuohio.edu
Full Bio »

Amy S. Liu (governance)
Deputy Director, Metropolitan Policy Program
Brookings Institution
aliu@brookings.edu
website: Metropolitan Policy Program
Full Bio »

John Mollenkopf (immigration)
Distinguished Professor of Political Science and Sociology
Director, Center for Urban Research, CUNY
jmollenkopf@gc.cuny.edu
Website: www.urbanresearch.org
Full Bio »

Rolf Pendall (infrastructure)
Associate Professor, Department of City and Regional Planning, Cornell University
Director, Metropolitan Housing and Communities Policy Center, Urban Institute
RPendall@urban.org
Full Bio »

Sarah Reckhow (economic insecurity)
Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science
Michigan State University
reckhow@msu.edu
Website: Michigan State University
Full Bio »

Todd Swanstrom (economic insecurity)
Des Lee Professor of Community Collaboration & Public Policy Administration
University of Missouri – St. Louis
swansttf@gmail.com
Full Bio »

J. Phillip Thompson (governance)
Associate Professor, Department of Urban Studies and Planning, MIT
jt71@mit.edu
Full Bio »

Howard Wial (economic resilience)
Economist, Metropolitan Policy Program
Brookings Institution
hwial@brookings.edu
Website: Brookings Institution
Full Bio »

Hal Wolman (economic resilience)
Professor, Political Science, Public Policy and Public Administration, and International Affairs
George Washington University
Director, George Washington Institute of Public Policy
hwolman@gwu.edu
Website: GWI Institute of Public Policy
Full Bio »

Working Groups

Members

Michael Jones-Correa, Cornell University
John Mollenkopf, City University of New York
Manuel Pastor, University of Southern California

Case study researchers

Els de Graauw, Baruch College (NYC case study)
Marta Pichardo,  CUNY (NYC case study)
Juan de Lara, USC (LA & San Jose case studies)
Rhonda Ortiz, USC (LA case study)
Jennifer Tran, USC (LA & San Jose case studies)
Rachel Rosner, USC (LA case study)
Jaime Dominguez, Northwestern Univ. (Chicago case study)
Michael Jones Correa, Cornell (Charlotte case study)
Doris Marie Provine, Univ Arizona (Phoenix case study)
Paul Lewis, Arizona State (Phoenix case study)


(more…)

Members

William Barnes, National League of Cities
Alan Berube,  Brookings Institution
Margaret Cowell, Virginia Tech
Kathryn Foster, State University of Buffalo
Archon Fung, Harvard University
Amy Liu,  Brookings Institution
Phil Thompson, MIT


(more…)

Members

James A. Brooks, National League of Cities
Margaret Weir, University of California, Berkeley
Sarah Reckhow, Michigan State University
Todd Swanstrom, University of Missouri – St. Louis

(more…)

Members

James A. Brooks, National League of Cities
Christopher Hoene, National League of Cities
Juliet Gainsborough, Bentley University
Robert Lang, Virginia Tech
Kate Lowe, Cornell University
Mai Nguyen, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Rolf Pendall, Urban Institute and Cornell University
Todd Swanstrom, University of Missouri, St. Louis

(more…)

Members

Edward Hill, Cleveland State University
Howard Wial, Brookings Institution
Hal Wolman, George Washington University


(more…)